The Convention on International Civil Aviation was opened for signature in Chicago, on 7 June 1944.

Its purpose was to outline solutions for political, legal and technical issues on aviation. Turkey became a party to the Convention on 5 June 1945 by the law 4749, and took its place among the founding members.

ICAO came into existence officially on 5 April 1947. Its headquarters is located in Montreal, Quebec. Currently, it has 191 member states.

Turkey spares no effort in supporting the strategic objectives of the Organization and works closely with all countries and aviation partners to achieve universal goals in civil aviation. Raising its representation by maintaining a Permanent Delegation in the ICAO Headquarters since 1990, Turkey follows the Council, ANC and other Committees as observer and participates in almost all ICAO meetings, seminars, panels and working groups.

Before the opening of our Permanent Mission in 1990, the Turkish Embassy in Ottawa had an office that focused on ICAO affairs.

Our Permanent Representation, located on the seventh floor of the ICAO building, is also accredited to the Secretariats of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) and the International Satellite System for Search and Rescue (COSPAS-SARSAT), both located in Montreal.

Ali Rıza Çolak Ambassador
Monday - Friday

09.00 - 17.00

1/1/2018 1/2/2018 New Year's Day
3/30/2018 4/2/2018 Good Friday / Easter Monday
5/21/2018 Victoria Day
6/15/2018 Eid al Fitr
6/24/2018 6/25/2018 Saint-Jean Baptiste Day
7/1/2018 7/2/2018 Canada Day (National Day)
9/3/2018 Labour Day
10/8/2018 Thanksgiving Day
10/29/2018 Republic Day (National Day)
11/11/2018 11/12/2018 Remembrance Day
12/25/2018 12/26/2018 Christmas